Professor Shuji Nakamura returned from London with the Queen Elizabeth Prize

HRH The Prince of Wales presents 2021 Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering

Dec. 8, 2021

London, UK: Today, His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales presented the 2021 Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering during a ceremony at St James’s Palace. The 2021 QEPrize laureates, Isamu Akasaki, Shuji Nakamura, Nick Holonyak Jr, M. George Craford and Russell Dupuis are recognised for the creation and development of LED lighting, which forms the basis of all solid state lighting technology. The engineers are recognised not only for the global impact of LED and solid state lighting but also for the tremendous contribution the technology has made, and will continue to make, to reducing energy consumption and addressing climate change.


“Engineering is imperative to solving human problems. All over the world, everyone knows the QEPrize. Most importantly, this is a team prize. I was able to do what I did in the 1980s, because of what had come before. When I was modifying reactors every morning and every afternoon continuously for a year and a half, I never thought it would be so successful.” Professor Shuji Nakamura

About the 2021 QEPrize

QEPrize celebrates engineering’s visionaries, encouraging engineers to help extend the boundaries of what is possible across all disciplines and applications. It also inspires young minds to consider engineering as a career choice and to help to solve the challenges of the future.

The QEPrize is administered by the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering Foundation and funded by generous support from the following corporate donors: BAE Systems plc, BP plc, GlaxoSmithKline, Hitachi, Ltd., Jaguar Land Rover, National Grid plc, Nissan Motor Corporation, Shell UK Ltd, Siemens UK, Sony, Tata Steel Europe, Tata Consultancy Services, and Toshiba.

The 2021 winners are awarded a total cash prize of £1 million. 

The 2021 prize was open to:

  • up to five living individuals;
  • of any nationality;
  • who are personally responsible for a ground-breaking innovation in engineering which has been of global benefit to humanity. Self-nomination was not permitted.
  • The trustees reserved the right to reject any nomination where, in their reasonable opinion, there was or was likely to be a conflict of interest between the nominees, nominators, or any referees and any other nomination or the prize more generally.

The judges use these criteria to select the winner, or winners, of the QEPrize:

  • What is it that they have done that is a ground-breaking innovation in engineering?
  • In what way has this innovation been of global benefit to humanity?
  • Are there any other individuals who might claim to have had a pivotal role in this development?

About the Create the Trophy Competition

 The QEPrize trophy is found through the Create the Trophy competition. The winning design is selected by a panel of expert judges from across the fields of engineering and design. The competition gives young people worldwide (aged 14-24) the opportunity to get involved, testing their design skills using the latest in 3D-design technology.

Contact: QEPrize

Email: info [at]

Web site: