Congratulations to Professor John Bowers, newly elected AAAS member!

Peer-Reviewed Excellence

Six professors elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
Wednesday, January 26, 2022

Six UC Santa Barbara researchers have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for 2021. Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

The new fellows are: Leon Balents, the Pat and Joe Yzurdiaga Chair in Theoretical Physics in the Kavli Institute of Theoretical Physics; John E. Bowers, the Fred Kavli Distinguished Professor of Materials, Electrical & Computer Engineering and Technology Management; Matthew Fisher, a professor in the Department of Physics; Michael Gurven, a professor in the Department of Anthropology; Mary Hegarty, a distinguished professor in the Department of Psychological & Brain Sciences; and Joel Rothman, a distinguished professor and Wilcox Family Chair in Biotechnology in the Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology.

“The College of Engineering is proud to congratulate Professor John Bowers on this distinct honor from his peers,” said Tresa Pollock, the interim dean of engineering and Alcoa Distinguished Professor of Materials. “This recognition is a testament to his pioneering research in photonics and optoelectronics that has and will continue to benefit society. His innovative work in integrated silicon photonics is leading the way to the future of telecommunications and electronics.” 

John E. Bowers(link is external) is one of the leading researchers in the areas of silicon photonics, optoelectronics, energy efficiency and the development of novel low-power optoelectronic devices for the next generation of optical networks. His research interests include silicon photonics and integrated circuits, fiber optic networks, thermoelectrics, high efficiency solar cells, and optical switching.

“AAAS is the premier scientific society and I am very grateful for receiving this recognition,” he said. “I appreciate the hard work and many contributions of the students and postdocs in my group, and collaboration with so many faculty at UCSB.”