Takeki Itoh is the recipient of the Bright Horizon Global Foundation Materials Department Service Awards

The Department is happy to announce the recipients of the Bright Horizon Global Foundation Materials Department Service Awards. These annual awards recognize students and post-doctoral researchers within the Materials Department for contributions that help to improve our sense of community and to assist in the educational mission beyond expectations. We are especially proud of the impact of the recipients for sustained activities over time and through an unprecendented year that has affected all of us.

The awards are supported by a generous donation from the Bright Horizon Global Foundation. The Foundation was founded by Dr. Mason Hu and Dorice Hu and one of its missions is to sustainably better our society through investment in education. Dr. Hu is one of the first PhD graduates of the Materials Department. The Department greatly appreciates their support of the awards that recognize emerging leaders in Materials Science for contributions beyond the laboratory and classroom.

In 2022, Takeki Itoh was recognizaed for his exceptional contribution and support of the Microscopy and Microanalysis Facility

Friday, August 20, 2021

2021 recipients included: 

Nate Palmquist
For his dedication to increasing DEI efforts and support for first-generation students at UCSB.

Caroline Reilly
For her leadership in establishing the Materials Student Association and her commitment to promoting materials research at UCSB.

Andrew Rowberg
For leadership in the Graduate Simulation Seminar Series and in Graduate Students for Diversity in Science.