Executive Committee/Professors

Co-Director of the Solid State Lighting & Energy Electronics Center. Professor of Materials and The Cree Professor in Solid State Lighting and Display. His research includes MOCVD, HVPE, and growth and device fabrication of light-emitters based on the wide-bandgap semiconductor indium gallium nitride (InGaN). He is the recipient of the 2006 Millennium Technology Prize for his invention of revolutionary new energy-saving light sources and the 2014 Nobel Laureate in Physics for the invention of efficient blue light-emitting diodes which has enabled bright and energy-saving white light sources. He is named the 2015 Global Energy Prize recipient for the invention, commercialization and development of energy-efficient white LED lighting technology. Dr. Nakamura is also the co-founder of Soraa Inc. He was awarded a Doctor of Engineering degree from the University of Tokushima in 1994.

Co-Director of the Solid State Lighting & Energy Electronics Center. Professor of Materials and Electrical & Computer Engineering and The Mitsubishi Chemical Professor in Solid State Lighting & Display. His research areas are in MOCVD growth of wide-bandgap semiconductors (GaN-based) and their application to blue LEDs and laser and high power electronic devices.

Professor of the Materials Department and the first recipient of The Seoul Optodevice Chair in Solid State Lighting, focuses his research on the relationship between thin-film electronic materials growth (MOCVD and MBE), microstructure, and the relation between microstructure and physical properties. View Faculty Profile.

Umesh Mishra

Professor of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and The Donald W. Whittier Chair. A recognized leader in the area of high-speed field effect transistors. His current research areas attempt to develop an understanding of novel materials and extend them into applications. He is the Director of the ONR MURI Center (IMPACT) on wide bandgap semiconductor based electronics.

Joined the Materials Department at the University of California, Santa Barbara as Professor of Computational Materials in 2004. His research interests lie in novel electronic materials, including wide-bandgap semiconductors (III-V nitrides, II-VI compounds, and oxides); the physics and chemistry of hydrogen interactions with solids, liquids, and molecular systems; and hydrogen in materials: storage and production (photoelectrochemical cells).

Executive Committee/Administrative

Director of the Office of Technology & Industry Alliances at UC Santa Barbara. She holds a Juris Doctorate from the University of California, Berkeley Boalt Hall School of Law and a Bachelors of Music from the Eastman School of Music. Prior to joining UCSB in 1999, she was a litigator specializing in entertainment law in Los Angeles, then served the Smithsonian Institution, negotiating copyright and trademark licensing agreements.

Rod C. Alferness

Formerly the Chief Scientist at Bell Labs, was appointed the Richard A. Auhll Professor and Dean of the College of Engineering at UCSB in September 2011. He is world-renowned for his work on optical switching technology and architecture, and his research has been central to the development of fiber optic communications systems.

Executive Director for Technology of the Solid State Lighting & Energy Electronics Center. Tal's new joint position, shared between SSLEEC and the California NanoSystems Institute (CNSI), is designed to enhance technology outreach and corporate relations while also developing new multi-PI and multi-campus initiatives for science and engineering at UCSB. Tal received his PhD in Materials from UCSB in 2002. He has 18 years of GaN experience, most recently serving as the Director of Process Engineering at Soraa, Inc.

Participating Professors

John Bowers

Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering Department, Director of the Institute for Energy Efficiency, and a member of the Technology Management Program (TMP). In July 2009, he was appointed to the Fred Kavli Chair in Nanotechnology. Professor Bowers' research interests are in energy efficiency and in the development of novel optoelectronic devices for the next generation of optical networks.

Professor of Materials and Electriclal & Computer Engineering Departments. His research currently focuses on components and fabrication techniques for III-V optoelectronic integrated circuits, including vertical-cavity lasers and widely tunable lasers.


Dr. Gordon focuses research on synthesis and characterization of nanoscale materials as well as the development of scanning probe microscopy (SPM) methods for optical, electrical, and mechanical interrogation of nanoscale systems found in different venues such as material science, microelectronics, catalysis, and biology. His current interests include: III-nitride nanostructures, micro/nano-LEDs; Near-field optical microscopy & plasmonics; Bio-inspired photonics; Microplasmas; Energy storage, magnetic, and catalytic materials; and Light-matter interactions & Spectroscopy. 

Herbert Kroemer

Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering and Materials Department. Professor Kroemer has received numerous national and international honors and awards for his work, most recently-and most notably-the 2000 Nobel Prize in Physics "for developing semiconductor heterostructures used in high-speed- and opto-electronics," and the 2002 IEEE Medal of Honor.

Professor of Materials/Chemistry & Biochemistry and Co-Director of the Materials Research Laboratory (MRL). His research encompasses a number of areas in the chemistry of inorganic materials, including new ways of preparing materials, magnetism in inorganic solids, oxide and chalcogenide nanoparticles, chemical patterning of inorganic materials on large (micrometer) length scales, seeking clues from nature on how to make new high-performance materials, and finally, using first principles electronic structure calculations to predict new material properties.

Distinguished professor in the Materials Department. His research contributions to SSLEEC are in the area of blue laser diodes and micro cavity LEDs. Additionally he has made significant contributions to Auger theory, photonic crystals, and experimental verification of LED droop. 


Srabanti Chowdhury received her M.S and PhD in Electrical Engineering from University of California, Santa Barbara. During her PhD. work she developed GaN-based vertical devices for power conversion and demonstrated the first vertical GaN power device (CAVET) with a record high breakdown electric field. After her PhD she joined Transphorm, a California-based company to develop and commercialize GaN based devices for power electronics application where she led the development of 1.2KV GaN-on-Si devices. She joined the school of Electrical Computer and Energy Engineering at Arizona State University in March’13, where she continued developing wide bandgap devices in GaN and diamond. In July 2015 she joined the faculty at UC Davis as an associate professor. She has authored and coauthored over 15 journal publications and presented in over 20 conferences. She is an inventor on 15 patents (combining issued and filed) on Gallium Nitride and diamond based devices and technologies. Srabanti received the NSF CAREER, AFOSR Young Investigator Program (YIP) and DARPA Young Faculty Award (YFA) in 2015 to continue her researchEndFragment